A Pleasant Welcome from The Buckeye State

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams. And the best way to make your dreams come true is to wake up”.

My name is Nyimas Fathia Dayatri. Mostly people call me Aya.
Now i’m hosted in Columbus, Ohio. The state is located in midwestern of United States. It’s known as the “Buckeye State” which is relating to the Buckeye, name of Ohio’s tree. And Columbus is the capital and largest city in Ohio. I love being placed here, some new lifestyles for me finally begin🙂

Now, I still have another 10 months left to explore this multicultural country. I hope i can learn more, be able to bridge the understanding and experiencing many new things here. So then i can share them to people around me when i get back to Indonesia.

I spent a half of ramadhan month here. Gratefully, fasting in USA isn’t really a big problem for me. I found rice in supermarket and sometimes cooked them for iftar and suhur. I either did my eid prayer in an Islamic Center here. It was my first experience spending the eid fitr day abroad. Moslems from all over the countries who live in USA came to pray. It felt so peaceful. I’m so thankful to God i could experiencing this.

I go to Columbus International High School. As its name, many of the students was born and came from other countries then stay in USA. I’m so happy and excited, since this is a big chance for me to learn about the cultures of other countries beside USA, though.
I go to school by the school bus, it takes 30 minutes to get there. The school has 3 floors, it’s kind of big school building. I love all the school families. My friends are all nice and helpful. The teachers are careful and friendly. Even the meals in Cafetaria are so good, haha. The school environment’s really conducive that makes me comfortable as well.

It’s almost 2 months i’ve been here. Everything get better day by day. My host family kindly took me to some festivals and recreation places here. Such as Roasted Corn festival, Kings Island, and Columbus Zoo. They were all Ah-mazing! I had fun and learn a lot from these places.

Well, The quote i typed above my story is so true. I can say it because i’ve already felt it. The point is don’t be afraid to believe in your dream and make it happen😀

Thanks for reading my short journal. Feel free to contact me anyway, by twitter: @ayadayatri. Of course I’ll be glad to talk to you!🙂

Regards,
Aya.

Tinggalkan Balasan

